Youth Appreciation


Youth Appreciation LogoThe Optimist Club of Oakville believes it is important that the youth of our community are recognized for their efforts and accomplishments in the arts, athletics, academics and community service. On an annual basis in November, we honor the accomplishments of students in our community. Each secondary school in Oakville is invited to select one candidate based on their participation in volunteering services within their school and community. These award winners are role models for the youth of our community. It is very inspiring to meet these youth. The students and their parents are invited to an Optimist Club dinner meeting where the awards are presented. Below is a photo of the award winners from November, 2017 and below is a photo album of all of the recipients. As well, we will add a profile of each student in the News section of our website each week. A special thank you to Optimists Tom and Carilyn who have run this annual Youth Appreciation program for many years, and to Optimist Bonnie, our new Youth Appreciation Chair for an excellent job this year. Each student received a framed certificate and a $250.00 Chapters/Indigo gift certificate.


Our Youth Appreciation 2017-18 recipients are from left to right, back row: Robert O'Halloran from King’s Christian Collegiate, Asad Irfan from MacLachlan College, Hunter MacKinnon from Oakville Trafalgar High School, Finlay McMullen from St. Ignatius of Loyola Secondary School, Angel Hsieh from Holy Trinity Secondary School, and Roe from White Oaks Secondary School, North Campus. In the front row from left to right are: Leanne Alphonso from Holy Trinity Secondary School, Hanna Jandrew from Iroquois Ridge High School, Vish Turaga from Garth Webb Secondary School, Sharon Lim from White Oaks Secondary School - South Campus, Lauren Bale from St. Thomas Aquinas Secondary School, Nayana Menon from Abbey Park High School, and Jade Breau from T.A. Blakelock High School. Unfortunately, Ayra Kathuria from St Mildred’s-Lightbourn School was ill and unable to attend that evening. Congratulations to all of you.

"Youth Appreciation 2017" Folder